2013 Annual Meeting & Recognition Dinner

Iroquois Trail Council Celebrates Volunteer Service at Annual Dinner

February 2nd, 2013 - Bohn's Restaurant - Batavia NY

The Iroquois Trail Council was pleased to recognize many individuals and units for their outstanding work to support our Scout youth.

Thanks to the efforts of our 1,500 Scouting volunteers, the Council has much to celebrate.

• The Council has earned the Silver Level 2012 National Journey to Excellence Award for service to youth and high program performance.
• Local Youth Retention rates and market share lead all upstate New York BSA councils.
• Summer Camp participation of local Cubs and Scouts leads all upstate New York BSA councils.
• Trained Volunteer Leader percentage has had a double‐digit increase in the past two years.
• Major investments in our camp properties continue to be fully privately funded.
• The Council is financially sound with a balanced operating budget and capital budget.

Local Scouting Units were recognized in several categories:

Highest Youth Retention Rate: Pack 4026 (Avon); Troop 4029 (Lima)
Greatest % Growth Dec 11 – Dec 12:
Pack 4026 (Avon); Pack 6260 (Attica); Troop 6066 (Indian Falls); Troop 6067 (Corfu)
Scouters Renee Sykes (Geneseo), Kathryn Marr (Livonia), and Peter Leblond (Perry) were recognized
with the William D. Boyce Unit Organizer Award for their successful efforts to organize new Boy Scout Troops in 2012.

Highest % Attendance – Cub Resident Camp at Sam Wood: Pack 3071 (Rapids)
Highest Combined % Attendance –
Day Camp & Cub Resident Camping: Pack 3028 (Medina) and Pack 3071 (Rapids)
Highest % Attendance – Camp Dittmer: Troop 4043 (Perry Center); Troop 4074 (Livonia)

Popcorn Sales
Highest Average Sales per Youth Member: Pack 3004 (Lockport) with $502 per member
Troop 6066 (Indian Falls) with $280 per member
2012 marked the 5th consecutive year that each group has set the pace for our youth members.
Pace‐Setters – with the largest gain in sales:
Pack 3071 (Rapids); Pack 6066 (Indian Falls); Troop 6069 (Batavia)
Honorable mention to Pack 6467 (Pembroke), Troop 25 (Lyndonville), and Troop 6069 (Batavia) for the next highest sales per member. All 3 groups followed last year’s growth with additional increases both in average sales and youth participation. Pack 3004, Lockport has the distinction of top unit sales of nearly $27,132. This is the 6th consecutive year that the pack has achieved this honor.

Wolf Cub Tyler Mutka (Pembroke Pack 6467) was recognized as our 2012 Top Popcorn Seller. Tyler’s sales of $3,238 topped his 2011 record of $2,600 from last year. In addition to the dollars he raised for his Cub Scout program, Tyler is a member of the national “Trail’s End Scholarship Club”. A portion of his current and future sales will be invested by Trail’s End toward either college or technical education after high school.
Cub Scout Noah Kutter (Pembroke Pack 6467) and Boy Scout Brent Oliver (Lyndonville Troop 25) are
newly enrolled in the scholarship program. Both had sales in excess of $2,500.
Boy Scouts Tyler Davis (Caledonia Troop 4027) and Robbie Pugh (Lockport Troop 4) also participated in the evening program. Each Scout is a prior year top seller with sales in excess of $3,200. Ten local Scouts are now invested in the Trail’s End Scholarship Club.

Thank you to Scouts Tyler Davis and Alex Kieffer (Pavilion Troop 6016, Order of the Arrow Lodge Chief) for sharing emcee duties for the Awards Dinner.

Veteran Scouters
Many Scouters were recognized with Veteran Awards for their long‐tenured Scouting membership, including Bruce Bender (Lockport) – 60 years; Donald Ames (Elba) – 55 years; Hugh Ten Hagen (Warsaw), Edward Fauth (Corfu), Gregory Johnson (Rochester), Frederick Hermansen (Caledonia) – 45 years; Gordon Crosby (Corfu) – 40 years; Donald Morris (Batavia), Jess Markel (Hamlin) – 35 years; Ronald Boyd (Holley) – 30 years; Tim Bucknam (Perry), Paul Fleming (Lima), Ronald Schmidt (Batavia) – 25 years; Robin Louvain (Geneseo), Matthew and Michael Lenhard (Corfu) – 20 years; Linda Greenman (Lockport), Kathryn and Joseph Marr (Livonia), Daniel Allen (Corfu) – 15 years. For Veteran Scouter Bill Scoins (Corfu), 2013 will mark 75 years of service to youth.

Silver Beaver Awards
Three volunteers were honored with the Council’s highest award, the Silver Beaver Award. Honorees are Edward F. Fancher (Albion), W. David Servizi (Newfane), and Robin W. Louvain (Geneseo). The Silver Beaver is a National BSA award presented by the local Council for distinguished service to youth. Each of this year’s recipients is a long‐tenured volunteer who has also made significant contributions by way of service to his or her local community. David Servizi, a 20‐year Scouting veteran and former Scoutmaster, currently serves as Towpath District training chairman and School Night for Scouting chairman. Ed Fancher’s Scouting tenure includes terms as a troop committee member, committee chairman, and
his current role as Council Treasurer. Robin Louvain’s Scouting 20‐year service includes terms as a den leader, Day Camp director and program director, Nundawaga district chairperson, and Council Vice President of Membership.

HTML tutorial

Proud to be a United Way Partner