2007 Council Awards Recipients



The Council’s 2007 Silver Beaver Award recipients are pictured with their spouses at the January 19 Awards Dinner. Pictured with the honorees are Council President Thomas J. Madejski, MD; Council Commissioner Alice Barrett; and Scout Executive Jim McMullen.




Venture Leader Honorees Bernie Bonczyk and Alicia Keller are pictured with presenter Eric Volk.

At the January 19 Annual Recognition Dinner the Iroquois Trail Council honored three volunteers with the Council’s highest award, the Silver Beaver Award. The honorees are Clinton Schwab (Silver Springs), Robert B. Spiers (Alexander), and Susan Vukman (Batavia).

The Silver Beaver is awarded by the local council for distinguished service to youth. Recipients are long-tenured volunteer Scouters who have also made significant contributions by way of service to their local communities.

Clint Schwab is Scoutmaster of Troop 4053 in Silver Springs. He also serves as the Council’s webmaster and the Nundawaga District (Popcorn Kernel). Bob Spiers has long been an active member of the Seneca District activities team and is active with Troop 6650 in Alexander. Among her other endeavors, Sue Vukman has for the past several years coordinated the Eagle Scout Boards of Review for the Seneca District.

Several youth members were also recognized. Three Scouts topped the list with Popcorn Sales of more than $2,500. The sale raises money for Scout programs, and also qualified the three for a national college scholarship program. Recognized were Cub Scout Brandon Hackett (Pack 6016 Pavilion), Cub Scout Tyler Jensen (Pack 6060 Attica ), and Boy Scout Adam Rhodes (Troop 4070 Geneseo).

Venture Leader Bernie Bonczyk and Youth Leader Alicia Keller received the Venture Leader Award. Eagle Scout Connor Grabowski ( Medina ) was also presented with the William T. Hornaday Award for outstanding service to conservation. Connor, who is the current Order of the Arrow Lodge Chief, served as emcee for the evening program.

The council presented numerous other awards to local leaders for years of service and organizational leadership. The Veteran’s Award is a symbol of many years of service in Scouting. Recipients included Joseph Mech (25 years) and William Louvain, Geneseo (35 years).

Other event highlights included the induction of new Board President Dr. Thomas J. Madejski (Albion) and Council Commissioner Alice Barrett (York).

HTML tutorial

Proud to be a United Way Partner